< PREVIOUS ARTIST next artist > BACK TO LINEUP

Jimmy Edgar (US)

Ultramajic

DJ Set - Techno / Electro / House

120'

SATURDAY 22 NOVEMBER 2014

ZOO

Precocious, multi-talented and self-taught artist, Jimmy Edgar displays, at just 30, the proud stamps of an impressive pedigree. DJ, producer, photographer, videographer, artistic director, label boss, the native of Detroit also spearheads the new contemporary techno/house generation, supported by a highly productive musical versatility that makes the mark at each performance.

Jimmy Edgar belongs to the young Motor City generation. A precocious child, the musician/designer already mastered many instruments and made a name for himself at the age of sixteen as a DJ, mixing alongside his heroes Juan Atkins, Kevin Saunderson and Derrick May. Adding a conspicuous detour by Warp (with two albums), we get one of the most promising artists of his generation, definitely « crowned » at the release of his fourth album, Majenta (Hotflush) in 2012. Since then, the artist, never short of projects, has found the time to launch in between two world tours his own label, Ultramajic, in collaboration with his sidekick from the duo Jets, Travis Stewart (aka Machinedrum): a concept that reflects the character, mixing music, design and multi-sensorial experiences, with an impressive creativity and as much productivity. Despite its short life, the label already has an impressive number of releases by artists such as Creepy Autograph, Chambray, Aden, Danny Daze, Spatial and Jamie Liddell. The producer has also launched a series of EP, the third of which, Saline, representing earth (after the fire of Hot Inside and the water of Mercurio), with a featuring of the late DJ Rashad, is announced for October.

On stage, the artist excels in the art of mixing genres and covering his tracks, taking the clubbers into sets without any concessions, in which progressive beats follow sci-fi electro, deep house, sexy disco, groovy acid and techno. We embrace without hesitation the spirit of this colourful artist who will lead the festivalgoers to a grand finale.

< artiste précédent artiste suivant > retour programme

Jimmy Edgar (US)

Ultramajic

DJ Set - Techno / Electro / House

120'

SAMEDI 22 NOVEMBRE 2014

ZOO

Artiste précoce, multitalentueux et autodidacte, Jimmy Edgar affiche, à tout juste 30 ans, les fiers estampilles d’un impressionnant pedigree. DJ, producteur, photographe, vidéaste, directeur artistique, patron de label, le natif de Detroit se place en prime en fer de lance de la nouvelle génération techno/house contemporaine, porté par une versatilité musicale ultra productive qui fait mouche à chaque prestation.

Jimmy Edgar fait partie de la jeune génération de la Motor City. Enfant précoce, le musicien/designer maîtrisait déjà pas mal d’instruments et s’était fait un nom en tant que DJ, mixant, à tout juste 16 ans, aux côtés de ses héros, Juan Atkins, Kevin Saunderson ou Derrick May. Si l’on rajoute à cela un détour remarqué par la case Warp (avec deux albums), on obtient l’un des artistes les plus prometteurs de sa génération, définitivement consacré sur la scène mondiale lors de la sortie de son quatrième album, Majenta (Hotflush), en 2012. Depuis lors, l’artiste, jamais à court de projet, a trouvé le temps de lancer, entre deux tournées mondiales, son propre label, Ultramajic, en collaboration avec son comparse du duo Jets, Travis Stewart (aka Machinedrum): un concept à l’image du personnage, mêlant musique, design et expériences multi-sensorielles, avec une impressionnante créativité et tout autant de productivité. Malgré sa courte vie, le label présente déjà un impressionnant volume de sorties, par des artistes de la trempe de Creepy Autograph, Chambray, Aden, Danny Daze, Spatial et Jamie Liddell. Le producteur y a également initié une série de EP, dont le troisième, Saline, représentant la terre (après le feu de Hot Inside et l’eau de Mercurio), avec un featuring de feu DJ Rashad, est annoncé pour octobre.

Sur scène, l’artiste excelle dans l’art de mélanger les genres et de brouiller les pistes, emmenant les clubbeurs dans des sets sans concession, où se succèdent beats progressifs, électro sci-fi, deep-house, disco sexy, acid groovy ou techno. On adhère sans hésiter à l’état d’esprit de cet artiste haut en couleurs qui saura mener les festivaliers vers un final en apothéose.